Orange Cake Recipe

I’ve picked up a few skills during lockdown and only a handful of them will be coming with me as I step out into freedom (which may still be a little while off). This cake has kept me sane, well fed, and in the good books with my family after one of the many lockdown moods I’ve put them through.

I’ve 100% got a dodgy oven because they sometimes sink in the middle, I’m ALMOST positive it’s not the recipe though. If anyone has any suggestions for improvements they will be welcomed with open arms, very widely spread. By no means am I Britain’s next top baker I just adore this cake and wanted to share.

CAKE INGREDIENTS:

220g of butter (softened at room temp)

225g of caster sugar

4 free range eggs (separated)

220g of self raising flour

2 tsp of baking powder

1 orange – zest only (grated)

FILLING:

50g of butter (melted)

175g of icing sugar

1 orange (juice and grated zest)

ORANGE DRIZZLE:

2 Oranges (juice only)

100g of caster sugar

25g of icing sugar

METHOD:

Preheat the oven to 180degrees. Grease two baking tins.

Place the butter into a mixer (or mix by hand) until it softens slightly and turns into a paste. Add the sugar and begin creaming both together until it turns pale yellow in colour.

Add all egg yolks into the mix and fold together, then add the egg whites and fold again. Sift the flour and baking powder into the mixture and stir.

Add the orange zest and fold the mixture together. When combined divide the mixture into the two greased baking tins and place into a preheated oven for 20-25 minutes. If mixture looks a little stiff add some orange juice.

For the buttercream mix all ingredients together until you get the desired consistency. If it looks too thick or stiff add a tsp of cold water and mix again. Mix the drizzle ingredients together and set aside.
Once the cake is cooled and out of the oven, sandwich the buttercream between the two cakes. Then drizzle over the orange drizzle.  

For the best experience have it with a coffee on a morning, can guarantee it starts the day right. My honest review would be that I can’t even talk about this cake without craving one. I’ve made one every week during lockdown, can’t stop won’t stop though.  

Published by IDLE

Journalism and Media MA student at Newcastle University. Avid writer and journalist. Currently reporting for Jesmond Local.

Leave a comment